top of page

"He's reached the end of his tether with me"

Joe Barton was his brutally honest self when describing the situation with Goalkeeper James Belshaw post the Charlton win.



When asked by BBC Radio Bristol what had happened to cause Belly's absence Barton replied: "From our perspective there's a standard of behaviour, James is obviously gonna be disappointed with Matthew Cox coming in and taking the starting jersey. Two Saturday's on the spin, last Saturday his agent phoned Eddy I think before a ball was kicked to try and speak about moving, and Saturday, before the games kicked off, 10 o'clock Belly's ringing me. Y'know to ask can he go on loan to another club which I felt was very, very selfish and at that point I've decided he's not gonna be part of our group going forward and if he's here beyond the deadline then we'll have a discussion about that.


But from my perspective Belly wants to be number one and I can understand that he's been number one for a large period of his Bristol Rovers career but you've got to support the team and you've got to support the man in the jersey. I get if he'd have phoned me either Sunday or Monday to tell me about this opportunity I'd have understood that but ringing twice getting your agent one Saturday morning before a ball is kicked before the first league game and then the following weekend to do it yourself and as a 32 Year Old I think that's the correct procedure is just wrong so I dont think he's focussed on the team, I dont think he's focussed on anything other than maybe what he wants to do which he can go focus on that now from my perspective away from the Football Club. He's been great in the League 2 season and I like James, I think he's a good man but sometimes he lets his emotion get the better of him and unfortunately he's reached the end of his tether with me."


We've become familiar with Joe Barton's straight talking and he was as sharp as ever here while acknowledging Belshaw's impact on Rovers and his good character. Whether it's a case of throwing your toys out the pram or perhaps a lack of clarity over the managers plan, James Belshaw's time at Rovers looks to be nearing an end.


Belshaw's fine quality means he's unlikely to struggle to find new suitors.

721 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page